Sundown Town

Five little green gems–
I used to think they were
the only way we could
know what facets looked like
without cutting each other
apart, but we’re still cutting
each other apart. Looking
out after dusk breaks,
answers to forget how I’m
here and you’re practicing
tightrope over quicksand…
But my string is still tied
around you, don’t worry. When
you misstep, sink I’ll have
the tattered line to take you
back into the trees, think
of hanging you there, low like
thin willow branches bursting
with foam, then I’ll tie you
to my ankle, make you carry
me over hidden shells or fire.

Leave a Reply

