Cask

Go outside when the moon is low and heavy,
see their yellow eyes wink in the fields
like lightning bugs, lure you in: I can see
the earth tremble as the countryside shadows

grow from dirt… I will mortar you in,
my Fortunado, stone-walled. Just listen to inner
vibrations, tones of green: follow your cool
blue origin, but fight like your yellow-eyed fire.

Feel the pain harrowing like freshly-scythed
wastelands with nothing to hold on to except
our madness, eyeless treasures, various types
of road-kill soaked in dirt and muck and flies.

My debt: peeling away with gentle dark exfoliation,
smooth my jagged bones, reform my kiss, my
breath as I’m sinking, sprouting along the river as
an offering to landscapes fragrant, with peppermint…

Leave a Reply

