Going Away Takes a Lifetime

I didn’t realize,

or seem to figure out

how my arms were open wide,

couldn’t fall if I wanted to–

Swimming in the sky,

thoughts traveling… I try listening

to the world, but I can feel

my head, still rattling–

By the time I get around

to caring about whether we

should split, branches

on the same trunk.

I won’t bite until you’re

with something else,

tell me you’re alone

along the ridges… Drinking

away blue violets

stuck inside every orifice

they can find, pretend

beauty is the only way

to save the damned.

Leave a Reply

